Spotify

190220 – Ein Jahr nach HanauGrimme Online Award

Stream episodes

A Spotify Original Podcast and Grimme Online Award winner.

On February 19th in 2020, a man shot nine young people out of racist motives in the German city of Hanau. It is the most fatal attack in a series of right-extremist terrorist acts shattering Germany over the past few years. How could this happen, again?

In this six-part documentary podcast, journalist Sham Jaff and reporter Alena Jabarine look back at the night of the attack, talk to survivors and the victims' families, and work through the investigation file, to understand what really happened and how it affected the younger generation in Hanau in beyond.

Related case stories

  • Deso

    A rapper from Berlin-Kreuzberg leaves everything behind to go to Syria and fight for ISIS. How could this happen?

  • Memento Moria

    In September 2020, the Moria refugee camp on the edge of Europe burns down and becomes a symbol of Europe's failed asylum policy. After that, everything changes. Journalist Sham Jaff and her team try to find out what is happening at Europe's borders today.

Spotify

190220 – Ein Jahr nach HanauGrimme Online Award

Stream Episodes

Ein Spotify Original Podcast, ausgezeichnet mit dem Grimme Online Award.

Am 19. Februar 2020 erschießt ein Mann in Hanau aus rassistischen Motiven neun junge Menschen. Es ist der verheerendste in einer ganzen Reihe rechtsextremer Terroranschläge der vergangenen Jahre. Wie konnte es schon wieder so weit kommen?

In diesem sechsteiligen Dokupodcast machen sich Journalistin Sham Jaff und Reporterin Alena Jabarine auf die Suche nach einer Antwort. Sie rekonstruieren die Tat mit Hilfe von Angehörigen und Überlebenden, arbeiten sich durch in die Akten und sprechen mit denen, die sich organisiert haben, um gemeinsam zu kämpfen: für eine lückenlose Aufklärung, für politische Konsequenzen – und gegen das Vergessen.

  • Deso

    Ein Gangstarapper aus Berlin-Kreuzberg radikalisiert sich, erklärt Musik zur Sünde und zieht für den IS in den Krieg. Wie konnte das passieren?

  • Memento Moria

    Im September 2020 brennt das Geflüchteten-Camp Moria am Rande Europas ab und wird zum Symbol der gescheiterten Asylpolitik Europas. Danach verändert sich alles. Die Journalistin Sham Jaff versucht zusammen mit ihrem Team herauszufinden, was heute an den Grenzen Europas passiert.